ISHPES Honorary Members

ISHPES is proud to recognize long-standing members who have contributed greatly to the organization and to sport history. The following scholars have had Honorary Membership bestowed on them:

Harvey Abrams, USA

Heribert Aigner, Austria†

Wolfgang Decker, Germany

Gigliola Gori, Italy
*honored in 2011

Haim Kaufmann, Israel
*honored in 2012

Leena Laine, Finland
*honored in 2015story ]

Manfred Lämmer, Germany

Hans Langenfeld, Germany

Mei-Chun Lin, Taiwan (current Council member)
*honored in 2016

Jan Lindroth, Sweden

Norbert Müller, Germany

Roberta J. Park, USA†

Gertrud Pfister, Denmark (current Council member)
*honored in 2012

Roland Renson, Belgium

Joachim K. Rühl, Germany

Thierry Terret, France
*honored in 2014

Tokuro Yamamoto, Japan
*honored in 2011

Patricia Vertinsky, Canada (current Council member)
*honored in 2014

† deceased

Skispuren Ski tracks: International Conference on the History of Winter Sports 2015

“Ski tracks” is the name of an international conference which will focus on the history of winter sport and especially the traditions of skiing. It takes place from 10th to 14th December 2015 in the Ski Austria Academy in St. Christoph am Arlberg. The conference will conclude an exhibition project in Tyrol and Vorarlberg entitled “ARLBERG. Pass.Region.Marke”. The location was chosen deliberately: In the former Bundessportheim St. Christoph significant Austrian ski pioneers as Hannes Schneider, Ernst Janner, Stefan Kruckenhauser and Franz Hoppichler developed their methods of instruction.

At the same time the network meeting for Austrian sports history, SPORTHISTNET, will be organized.

The conference languages are German and English.

Continue reading